Skip to Content

UNO Confirms You’ve Been Playing The Game Wrong Your Entire Life

If you’re one of those people that skim through the rules to a board game then add in a new rule or two of your own, the time has come when the gig is up.

UNO Confirms You’ve Been Playing The Game Wrong Your Entire Life and they are setting the record straight once and for all.

The official UNO Twitter account posted the other day confirming that confirmed that +4 or +2 cards cannot be stacked — at all.

UNO says:

“If someone puts down a +4 card, you must draw 4 and your turn is skipped. You can’t put down a +2 to make the next person Draw 6. We know you’ve tried it. #UNO”

Yes, I know bummer and can totally put a damper on your winning streak.

If you’ve ever played UNO (and who hasn’t) you know that has been common practice to stack +4 and +2 cards.

So, the news hasn’t broken well with the internet.

In fact, people are flocking to social media to express their frustrations with the rule clarification including Foot Locker:

https://twitter.com/eveewing/status/1125157353987411971

Whether you agree or not, UNO is now ruined for everyone. HA.

Christine Madison

Monday 6th of December 2021

If a draw 4 is played, can you stack a draw 4 and make the next person pick up 8??

Laura

Tuesday 21st of July 2020

What if you're playing eith 2 people only? I put the 4+ and choose red.. which happens to be a red 2+..can I do that? Due to the fact that it's my turn again since there's just two of us.

Lourdes

Sunday 26th of July 2020

It would be your turn. Your draw 4 and skip a turn!

Georgeanna

Tuesday 7th of July 2020

This deal about playing uno wrong well I have never play the game by stacking draw 4’s and Draw 2’s never even knew people who played it that way.

Alissa

Tuesday 2nd of July 2019

What kind of monsters stack +4s and +2s? We have never done that.

Donna

Friday 10th of July 2020

I know! A family full of meanies!! LOL.

Diane M

Sunday 30th of June 2019

Never ever heard of stacking draw cards and adding them.

Jen S.

Thursday 1st of July 2021

@Jen, yes! That’s how we play too! And if u don’t have the card then u draw and next person goes. If u have to draw u don’t get to lay a card down. We have never tried stacking a draw 4 and draw 2 together that makes zero sense! Lol

Jen

Monday 1st of July 2019

+4 and +2 are not “alike” so who would stack them on each other anyway??? Now adding a +4 onto another +4 is ok and the same goes for stacking +2 on top of another +2.