Skip to Content

Here’s When You Can Watch ‘Rudolph’, ‘Frosty’, and Other Holiday Classics This Year

The holiday classics are returning this year and now that we know the Peanuts specials are also making a comeback, retiring as a couch potato has never sounded so good.

Courtesy of NBC

Most recently, CBS and ABC have released their television holiday specials and if you don’t have cable, don’t sweat just yet; you can live stream CBS on a handful of streaming services such as Hulu, Paramount+, and fuboTV.

Starting with the fan-favorite Christmastime movies first,

  • “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer,” will air from 8-9 p.m. Monday, Nov. 22 on CBS.
  • “Frosty the Snowman,” airs from 8-8:30 p.m. alongside “Frosty Returns,” from 8:30-9 p.m. Friday, Nov. 26, on CBS.
  • “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town,” begins at 8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 26, and at the same time on Dec. 23, on ABC.
Courtesy of NBC

With the iconic classics out of the way, here is the full list of holiday shows airing on both ABC and CBS!

CBS:

  • “Adele One Night Only” 8:30-10:30 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 14
  • “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer,” 8-9 p.m. Monday, Nov. 22
  • The Thanksgiving Day parade, 9 a.m. to noon Thursday, Nov. 25
  • “Frosty the Snowman,” 8-8:30 p.m. and “Frosty Returns,” 8:30-9 p.m. Friday, Nov. 26
  • “Robbie the Reindeer: Hooves of Fire,” 8-8:30 p.m. and “Robbie the Reindeer: Legends of the Lost Tribe,” 8:30-9 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 27
  • “The Story of Santa Claus,” 9-10 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 27
  • “One Last Time: An Evening with Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga,” 8-9 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 28
  • “Home for the Holidays at the Grove,” 9:30-10:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 5, featuring stores of adoption from foster care
  • “A Christmas Proposal,” original movie, 8-10:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 12
  • “Christmas Takes Flight,” original movie, 8-10 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 19
  • The 44th annual Kennedy Center Honors, 9-11 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 22. Those being honored are Justino Díaz, Berry Gordy, Lorne Michaels, Bette Midler and Joni Mitchell.
  • “A Holly Dolly Christmas,” 8-9 p.m. Friday, Dec. 24.
  • “Kenny Rogers: All in For the Gambler,” 9-10 p.m. Friday, Dec. 24.
  • “New Year’s Eve Live: Nashville’s Big Bash,” 8-11 p.m. Friday, Dec. 31.

ABC:

  • “The Magic Maker,” 8 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 25
  • “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town,” 8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 26, and 8 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 23
  • “The Wonderful World of Disney: Magical Holiday Celebration,” 7 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 28
  • “The Great Christmas Light Fight,” 9 p.m. Sundays, starting Sunday, Nov. 28
  • “CMA Country Christmas,” 8 p.m. Monday, Nov. 29
Courtesy of NBC
  • “A Very Boy Band Holiday,” 8 p.m. Monday, Dec. 6, and 9 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 23
  • “The Sound of Music,” 7 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 19
  • “Shrek the Halls,” 8:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 24
  • “Disney Magical Christmas Day Parade,” 10 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 25
  • “The Wonderful World of Disney: Frozen,” 8 p.m. Monday, Dec. 27
  • “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest,” 8 p.m. Friday, Dec. 31