Skip to Content

Some Parents Will Be Getting A $3,000 exemption for Unborn Children on Their Taxes. Here’s What We Know.

This is quite interesting…

Some parents will now be getting a $3,000 exemption for unborn children on their taxes…

Now, as of right now, this only applies to Georgia residents but that isn’t to say, other states won’t follow suit…

The Georgia Department of Revenue put out the new guidance this week saying people can claim unborn children as dependents on their taxes.

This is following the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals ruling that allowed the state’s “Heartbeat” abortion law to take effect.

In a news release they stated:

“Any time on or after July 20, 2022, and through December 31, 2022, a taxpayer has an unborn child (or children) with a detectable human heartbeat (which may occur as early as six weeks’ gestation), the taxpayer may claim a dependent personal exemption.”

Obstetric Ultrasonography Ultrasound Echography of a fourth month fetus

That means, parents are able to claim an exemption of $3,000 for each unborn child.

“Similar to any other deduction claimed on an income tax return, relevant medical records or other supporting documentation shall be provided to support the dependent deduction claimed if requested by the Department,”

pregnat woman with a sonogram of her baby

So, if you are a Georgia resident and end up pregnant this year, you’ll be able to claim that unborn baby on your taxes.

Photos courtesy of Deposit Photos.